All well with the new additions: four healthy seeming, good feeding and content looking sort of white kitties. Cleo continues to languish in her box, kneading the air — which is called bicycling, and is a very good sign that she’s lactating and happy. She’s certainly purring a lot!

Last night and twice this morning she asked to come out of the room. She proceeded to eat loads of Schubert’s food, drink from the bathtub as of yore (remember, she has all her own food and water in her room!), and explore the WHOLE house. She keeps checking out her old possible nests, and at one point found a few more: under the sofa, under the bathroom cupboard… Right.

Absolutely NO WAY, is all I have to say to that. We can’t keep those babies safe in another situation. They will set off across the room again. Schubert will think one is a toy. It’ll be awful.

I’m only just beginning to stop feeling faintly ill from constant anxiety. Stay where you are Cleo, in a nice, furry cat basket, lovely and warm and quiet. You really don’t want to move them to the middle of all the action. You really, really don’t.

I’m also getting over my anxiety about her adventures away from her babies. She leaves them while content and wanders about the house, for 20 minutes sometimes. Although as I type she’s been snoozing with them (who can blame her, after what she’s been through) for six hours. But when she wanders, I fight panic. I’m afraid she’s going to forget about them. I know that’s silly.

I’m silly. She now knows what she’s doing. And they are stronger every hour.

I remember a dream I once had about forgetting newborn kittens in a cupboard in our old house. I looked and looked for them, and never found them. When I woke up, I was devastated. I had this dream years ago, around the time I lost a pregnancy.

Strangely, I think it’s that feeling which has partly come back. Combined with the panic of having an actual newborn baby human: like if you forget about them for a minute, they will come to harm.

Not true, of course. Funny how I have to learn that all over again.

***

In the land of type 1 diabetes, we are still struggling with night numbers in particular. Having lowered the basals, things once again went a little high last night. The thing is: we are dealing with a moving target. Diabetes never stands still, not in adolescents, anyway. What may have worked two days ago has no guarantee of working today. At the moment anyway. We can only keep pitching the balls, and hope to at least stay in the ballpark….

And I forgot to say in yesterday’s entry that roughly two hours into Cleo’s labour E came in and said that just to add to the stress he had just figured out he’d forgotten to bolus (take insulin) for lunch. Which was rice, a seven hour dual wave (dripping in of insulin). Which explained why he was 23mmols and feeling grim.

Sigh. No one’s fault. It’s so easy to do in all the fuss. But it took him three hours to come close to back in range, 11mmols. And then of course by 11pm he was too low.

Sigh again. He handled it well and didn’t complain, even though I know for an hour he thought he was going to throw up.

And during that time, two more kittens were born.

